Ukatasana

Ukatasana is the chair pose in yoga. You look like you are sitting in a chair except that there isn’t one. I’ve always liked Ukatasana, but I’ve wondered if there is any use for this pose in normal, daily life.

Ukatasana is hard on your quads and I think I like it because I can do it. After 40 years at high altitude running in the hills, my quads are pretty strong, so I can hold the pose for a long time. But, as for a practical use, I didn’t discover that until recently. I’ve been replacing the under cabinet lights in our kitchen. I’m tall. The bottoms of the cabinets are not. That’s an hour or more in ukatasana. I wondered for quite a while why I was sweating so profusely and my shirt was soaked.

Your thoughts?

